Mike Albert

Mike Albert

Genres Heavy metal, Rock, Blues, Latin rock, Jazz fusion.
Occupation(s) Musician, songwriter.
Instruments Electric and Acoustic Guitar, Slide Guitar.
Years active 1970s - present.
Labels Columbia records, Big Deal records, MCA Records, Maximized Entertainment, S.R.I Records.
Associated acts Megadeth, El Chicano, Ruben and the Jets, L. Shankar, Mike Albert Project.
Website www.mikealbert.rockswww.mikealbertproject.com


Mike Albert began playing guitar at the age of 9 years old. He left high school in his Junior year to pursue a musical career. Soon after Albert was a professional guitar teacher at the age of 18. During the mid 1970's he joined the International recording Band : Ruben and the Jets, who were produced by Frank Zappa. After they disbanded, Albert continued to write and perform with the bands leader and vocalist: Ruben Guevara.

After Albert was a member and co-leader of original keyboardist Bobby Espinosas' version of the Latin Rock-band El Chicano. They released several US hit regional singles in the early 80's... such as "Groovin'", "Do You Want Me",... soon after were signed to Columbia Records with "Let Me Dance With You" and "I'm In Love With". They also toured with SantanaEarth, Wind & FireChicagoTower of Power and War.

Also in the early 80's, Albert did a project with former members of Eric Clapton and Bob Seger, including Sergio Pastora on percussion, Dick Sims on keyboards and Carl Radle on bass. They performed many of the songs from the time they were in Claptons' band, music of which Albert is well versed.

in 1984 Albert also collaborated with Lee Pastora and Billy Cobham on a 1984 World Olympics Promotional recording.

In 1985, guitarist Chris Poland left Megadeth during their Killing Is My Business... and Business Is Good! tour and band leader Dave Mustaine asked Albert to take over the position of lead guitarist. They also did shows with AnthraxExodus and Slayer, before Poland rejoined the band and Albert left. He's on several bootleg recordings from the band's shows. In the late 80s' Albert and former "Megadeth" drummer Gar Samuel started the band "Metalist". Prior to being signed with "Megadeths" previous label " Combat Records", they disbanded because of substance abuse.

Albert went on as a session musician for commercials and movie soundtracks including the movie"Hostile Intentions" with Tia Carrere, Cheech and Chong's "Nice Dreams" as well as several live performances with the comedy duo. The wrap party for the movie was at George C. Scott's Mansion with the band consisting of: Mike Albert, Don Felder (of the "Eagles") on lead guitars, and Tommy Chong on rhythm guitar, Cheech Marin and Ruben Guevara on vocals, Bobby Espinosa on Keyboards, Pancho Sanchez on percussion, and last but not least.... Timothy Leary on tambourine... Another highlight in the late 90s' Albert created the band "The Unsung Heroes" which performed at the "Greek Theatre" and the "Los Angeles Colosseum", with Rap Artist "Ice Cube" with Albert also the Musical Director.

In 2006, he formed the Albert/Schroeder Experience, a Tribute to Jimi Hendrix, With Mike Albert: Guitar, Jorg Schroeder: Bass, Perry Lopez: Drums and Richard Schroeder: Vocals.

He formed the Mike Albert Project and released their album Afterlife in 2009, which received good reviews and international airplay... Two tracks off the album are also featured on a compilation CD So Cal Metal Countdown. Band members included Jon Escobedo, Richard Schroeder, Angel Lujan and Bernie Pershey.

On January 27, 2014, Maximized Entertainment released his new album Crime of Passion. His song "Drive" is the theme song for "Indie Power T.V.", a world wide interview show featuring the top Musicians in the industry.

For the past decade, Albert has been working with Grammy winning virtuoso violinist and vocalist L. Shankar (Shenkar). They have worked on multiple projects together and have toured the world showcasing a unique blend of East meets West fusion.

Albert currently is recording a new album with some world renowned musicians..T.B.A......He resides in Los Angeles, California.

Selected discography

  • 1982 - El Chicano - Groovin
  • 1983 - El Chicano - Do You Want Me
  • 1984 - El Chicano - Let Me Dance With You
  • 1984 - El Chicano - I'm In Love With
  • 2003 - Mike Albert Project - Feast or Famine
  • 2006 - The Albert/Schroeder Experience - "Tribute to Jimi Hendrix" Guitar: Mike Albert, Bass: Jorg Schroeder, Drums: Perry Lopez, Vocals: Richard Schroeder
  • 2006 - Mike Albert Project - Hypnotic
  • 2009 - Mike Albert Project - Afterlife
  • 2014 - Mike Albert Project - Crime of Passion